Eat, (sort of) Briefly – Nacho Cheese Chicken Chowder

Just looking at the name of this recipe, you would think it would be the same as saying “Keri soup” right? What is not to love?

I got this one from Parents Magazine – and the picture is from there as well, just so we are giving credit where credit is due.

Here is their version of the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 2 14 1/2 ounce can Mexican-style stewed tomatoes
  • 1 10 3/4 ounce can condensed nacho cheese soup
  • 1 10 ounce package frozen whole kernel corn (2 cups)
  • Shredded Mexican-style or cheddar cheese

Make It

1.In a 3-1/2- or 4-quart slow cooker, stir together chicken, undrained tomatoes, soup, and corn.

2. Cover and cook on low-heat setting for 4 to 5 hours or on high-heat setting for 2 to 2-1/2 hours. Sprinkle each serving with cheese. Makes 6 servings.

Makes: 6 servings

*Now, OF COURSE Keri did some things differently. First I omitted the can of tomatoes, because that would have been WAYYYYY too Tomato-y for The Hub.

Secondly, I actually didn’t cook mine in the crock pot this time around – I browned up the chicken in the bottom of a big pot, then added the soup, the corn, and 3/4 a soup can of milk to make up for the liquid lost from not adding the tomatoes, and let the whole thing cook through on the stove for 10 minutes or so. Then I served it up with shredded cheddar and tortilla chips.

And that may have been where I went wrong. Don’t misunderstand me, this was tasty. The Hub really dug it (but he ate a LOT of chips with it, kind of using it more as nacho cheese than a soup.) But even he said it could have been a bit thicker, and I am wondering if something about cooking the corn in the soup in the slow cooker for hours might allow starch to be released from the kernels that might thicken the chowder a bit more.

I will try this one again, for sure – but I guess I will follow the cooking instructions and see what the consistency is when cooked that way. (Geez, that’s no fun, now, is it?) 😉

2 Comments

Filed under Eat - Briefly

2 responses to “Eat, (sort of) Briefly – Nacho Cheese Chicken Chowder

  1. Erin

    I made this last week too after seeing your post on TN…and mine didn’t turn out much better. I used the tomatoes even though I don’t really like tomatoes and I cooked it in the crock pot. It was still pretty thin and with using the tomatoes (I even used the mexican stewed ones) there was too much raw tomato flavor to it. It was okay, but we much prefer your tex-mex soup!

  2. Thanks for the comment – I think this is one of those things that I really *Want* to be good, but it just isn’t.. at least not in this form.
    But now I wonder what would happen if I added a can of nacho soup to my Tex Mex soup…. hmmm…

Leave a Reply

