Eat- Houston style Green Sauce

Um yeah… so  why so silent,  there Keri?  Not really – I’ve just been caught up in observing the hilariousness that is life in the ‘burbs at Reluctantly Suburban.

But Keri is never NOT cooking – here I am on Hungry whipping up  some Arroz Con Pollo (yum.)

We spent Christmas in Texas with The Hub’s family, and Tex-Mex food in the Houston region includes a heavenly substance known as “Green Sauce.”  Chips and Salsa that come to the table for snacking will include this as well as a traditional tomato-based salsa.
I’m a sucker for regional foods/dishes, and this sauce is on my Houston must have list along with Chicken-fried Steak and Kolaches (mmmmmmm. )

After some research and tinkering,  I have a green sauce recipe I can make to satisfy my cravings for a giant vat little dollop of Houston flavor and my shameless social media boasting led to requests to share it.

Behold, y’all:

What you need
-1 and 1/2 lbs of fresh tomatillos
-2 cloves garlic, mashed or pressed to a paste
-1/2 bunch fresh cilantro
-1 Serrano pepper, roasted, a skin removed
-1 ripe avocado, skin and pit removed
-1/4-1/2 cup Sour Cream

What you do
1. Peel the papery skin off of the tomatillos
2.In a large pot bring to boil enough water to cover the tomatillos,  add them and boil until they are tender – 8-10 minutes
3. In a food processor,  pulse the cilantro,  avocado, Serrano pepper (if you want less heat, remove the seeds and veins from the pepper – I like a bit of spice, and it isn’t overwhelming,  so I leave them in,) and garlic. Pulse to blend.
4. Add the tomatillos to the processor and blend until smooth.
5. Add 1/4 cup sour cream and blend again. Taste. If desired you can add more sour cream for an even creamier texture.
image

6. Chill and serve cold or room temp with chips for dipping (or straw for drinking if you love it like I do.)

Tonight I smothered grilled chicken burritos with it. Oh yeah.  So. Damn. Good.
image

Enchiladas sauced with it are on my list to try as well.

Make it. Serve it. Receive compliments with a demure “Well bless your heart, y’all!”

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat

Leave a Reply

