EAT: Parmesan Chicken

 

Look, I get it… food blogger Keri sux and it is way quiet around here.  We can talk about all of that some other time – because LOOK AT THIS CHICKEN!!

I posted a pic on Instagram and then (duh Keri) people wanted a recipe.  Ask, and you shall receive…. sort of. Let’s call this a “technique” rather than a recipe.  But DANG – so good!

To make this delicious Parmesan crusted chicken and herb-y butter sauce, I started out by butterflying and then splitting a large boneless chicken breast, so I had two nice pieces that were a fairly even thickness (around 1/2 inch.)

I melted a generous pat of butter in a frying pan over medium high heat, then dipped each piece of chicken into a bowl with a beaten egg, letting the excess drip off before moving the piece to a plate with 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese (the Kraft-esqe variety that comes in the shaker,) mixed with a teaspoon of  dried Italian seasoning (or your choice of dried herbs.)

I coated each side in the cheese and then placed the pieces into the frying pan, cooking on each side for 4 minutes.

I removed the chicken to a plate, added an extra pat of butter to the pan along with 1/4th cup pinot grigio and deglazed (encouraged/allowed the bits from the bottom of the pan to come up into the liquid) before removing from the heat.

I served it with some quick steamed broccoli florets seasoned with red pepper flakes and more of the Parmesan shakeys (do other people call that stuff shakeys?  Just me?)

When I served it up, I piled the broccoli up, then set the chicken on top of that, then spooned the buttery sauce down over the top of all of it.

Simple and REALLY good.  (and of course oh-so-keto perfect, should you be so inclined.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Be- Briefly, Eat - Briefly

Leave a comment