Eat- Turkey Chili 

I know, I KNOW – I am just NO WHERE lately.  The whole summer just FLEW by, and here we are deep down into fall (not that you can tell here along the front range of the rockies, where we are still hitting 80 degrees on the regular.  BOOO!)

Anyway, it is what it is, Keri was too busy doing all the things her blog name says, and not writing about it.  Bad Keri.

BUT YAY FALL!!  Oh how I love cooking in fall.  So cozy with the fam all cuddle down in the house, eating big pots of simmering yummieness together after frolicking in the leaves and such.  (OK, that might be a little more “Instagram filter world” than “IRL” but still – it’s a great season, yo.)

I am determined to start cooking fall weather food, even if the entire family has been sweltering  through pumpkin patch outings and leaf raking in shorts and tee shirts all dang month.

Nothing is better in Fall than a big bowl of chili, amirite? (Yes, yes I am right – even if my husband, who CLAIMS to have been raised in Texas, doesn’t actually care for chili BECAUSE HE IS SHADY OR SOMETHING, can I get an amen?)

I am a “no bean” kinda gal, and I know that is a hugely polarizing statement .  But before you get your oven mits in a bunch about it, you could easily throw in a can or two of your personal faves and have this recipe come out great as well.

It is even BETTER heated up for lunch in the days after making it, and it also freezes and reheats perfectly!

Let’s make Keri’s chili, shall we?

WHAT YOU NEED

1 lb ground turkey (or ground beef, or whatever “ground” floats your boat)

1 medium onion, chopped

1 14 oz can diced tomatoes

1 can low sodium chicken broth

½  29 oz can tomato sauce (take a peak at the ingredients – you just want tomato puree, no salt or sugar!!  I use a half a can, you could use the whole thing if you aren’t the carb counting fiend that I am.)

1 1/1 tablespoons chili powder

1 tablespoon cumin

½ tablespoon black pepper

¾ teaspoon garlic powder

Coconut oil (or other oil) –not pictured –  to coat bottom of pot

WHAT YOU DO

Heat enough coconut oil to coat the bottom of a deep-walled soup/stock pot, and add chopped onion over medium heat.  Sweat the onions for 2-3 minutes.

Add in ground turkey and cook over medium-high heat until browned.
Add all spices, and stir to coat the meat and warm the spices

Add tomatoes to the pot (I don’t drain, I just let the juice cook off)

Add the tomato sauce and the broth,  stir well, and simmer partially covered on low for 1 hour. (or you could TOTALLY simmer this in a slow cooker on low all day and fill your house with INSANELY good smells to greet you at dinner time.)


MMMMM.

Now come on fall weather – Colorado is waiting for you!

Leave a comment

Filed under Eat, Ground Beef, low carb, Meal Prep, My Faves, Slow Cooker

Leave a comment